D&E Day 45 (The End, For Now)

No one slept last night. I think it’s fair to put the blame on one person in particular, but I won’t name names…E. He woke up at 1:00 AM, 3:00 AM (and wouldn’t go back to sleep – though he did eventually), and 5:00 AM. It’s going to be hard to keep the energy up today, but I think we might be able to manage. Though, I suppose it’s possible that the crazies will set in and we won’t notice how tired we are. If I recall, while I was in the shower, I overheard A singing Jingle Bells, and I had circus-like music running through my head.

That’s pretty accurate.

We will persevere!

IMG_2419

Today, D&E Day 45, is the last day of our daily adventures, at least it is for now. We are still going to have adventures, we’re always going to have adventures, but our updates will be a bit less frequent. But we’ll leave all of that for later, we still have today!

As you can see, E is ready to go.

IMG_2443

It’s alive.

I think he wants to eat.

I was right. He downed that bottle. I think he might try to eat me next. I was right again. I wish I had gotten a picture of it, but I was too busy defending myself.

I’m going to go and get him dressed for the day.

Stage 1: Wiggle around with no clothes on.

IMG_2447

Stage 2: Clothes on.

IMG_2450

Stage 3: Morning workout.

I almost forgot stage 4, the most important stage!

Stage 4: The cape.

IMG_2455

Now that we’re both ready to go, we’re out the door.

Our first stop was the grocery store. Since today is our last day, E decided that I should get some fancy bread for my lunch sandwich today. I agreed. I really just wanted some nice sourdough though, nothing too fancy.

After the bread run, we started on our trek downtown.

IMG_2459

We stopped by The National, once again, to buy tickets.

IMG_2288

This time, we weren’t buying tickets for us though. We picked up some tickets for D and J to see the band, The National, at the club, The National.

E was asleep the whole time, but now that I’m sitting down to eat my tasty sandwich, on sourdough, E is awake and he sounds unhappy. Of course. Always good timing with that guy.

Next up, waiting for the electrician to return to fix the walkway light. While we’re waiting, E and I are going to plot our next move.

IMG_2461

That’s E plotting. Can’t you tell?

While we were plotting, we did all sorts of things. First, E worked on grabbing his feet.

IMG_2462

Next, E worked on rolling over.

IMG_2468

Then, he worked on getting back over.

IMG_2472

Still working.

IMG_2474

Still working.

IMG_2477

After that, he umm…practiced…chewing on his sock. I suppose this could also be him working on removing his socks with his mouth, an essential life skill either way.

IMG_2481

Finally, he wrestled with the monkey that the B family brought him a few weeks ago.

IMG_2479

He might be eating it, I can’t tell.

Chewing on socks and monkey wrestling, I’d say this was time well spent.

E and I thought an outing might be nice, so we got ready and away we went.

IMG_2486

We decided that we would listen to, The Chronicles of  Marnia, by Marnie Stern for the first leg of our journey. This was a good choice for a sunny day.

Our first stop was Total Wine.

IMG_2488

E is such a helper when we go shopping.

IMG_2489

We picked up, All Day IPA, by Founders Brewing. They’ve been making this one for a little while now, but it’s the first time I’ve seen it around Richmond.

We changed the music to, A New Moon, by The Men for the next part of our trip. This was another good selection. E has good taste.

We left Total Wine and headed over to the University for a walk.

IMG_2494

We walked around campus for about half an hour, and we decided that, with the wind, it might be a little chilly out for E. We just got home, still waiting for the electrician.E’s taking his socks off again. He’s laughing about it this time. I’m sensing a trend.

IMG_2497

He’s so proud of himself.

A is going to be home any minute now, so E and I are going to go and get the house in order. I don’t think any of us has clean laundry.

I know it’s cliche, but this isn’t “goodbye” it’s just “see you later!” E , Rodie, and I aren’t going away, but our daily adventures are going to be taking a back seat for a little while. We’re still going to be wild and crazy guys, and we’re still going to check in from time to time. So, for now:

IMG_2410

Tonight’s Bottle: Dogfish Head My Antonia Imperial Pilsner.

IMG_2499

First, I have managed to have 45 different beers in 45 days. That’s kind of neat.

A and I really enjoy this one, so I thought I would share it with her to celebrate. A while ago, I decided that I didn’t know much about lagers, and I didn’t know what direction to go in. Then, poof, Dogfish Head released this beer. Lager. With a good hops character. Perfect. This beer is wonderful, and I highly recommend it. Here’ the description from the brewery:

My Antonia (named after the Willa Cather read), is a continually-hopped imperial pilsner. This lager for ale lovers is citrusy, sweet and refined.

My Antonia started out as a collaboration beer when Sam brewed it at Birra del Borgo (hope you can read Italian) outside Rome, Italy, with owner/brewer Leonardo DiVencenzo in October 2008. In 2010, we began brewing My Antonia here in Delaware for U.S. distribution.

As an aside, in June 2009, Leonardo came over to Delaware and brewed our original batch of Namaste with us at our Rehoboth Beach brewpub. And Leo is also one of the brewers involved in the Eataly project in New York City. What goes around, comes around.

Anyhoo… here is our Quick Sip Clip of Sam chatting about My Antonia with his Italian-American grandmother Jessie Calagione (they sometimes veer a bit off topic, but we think it’s a great video and love her ‘cash customers’ story). Cheers!

Here’s the video they reference:

A Final Thought: 

Today, this section is not appropriately titled. In previous posts, I was referencing my final thought for the day. Seriously, after I typed this section each day I was done thinking for the day because I had nothing left. However, today it’s not my final thought. Today, it’s more of a reflection. This blog has been a necessary outlet for me for the last 45 days, and it has helped me retain my sanity. I don’t know if this post and the last 44 will ever mean anything to E, but they will be there if E is every curious about what we did for the first few months of his life. Some of the stuff we have done over the last 45 days may seem trivial to some, but I wouldn’t trade any of it. I am fortunate that I work for an organization that extends this type of leave to all of its employees, and I realize that most dads don’t get to do what I’ve done. I hope that E and I have a better relationship now because of it, and I hope that relationship endures his terrible twos, teenage years when we’re butting heads on a daily basis, and beyond. This has also been a learning experience. Not only have a learned a thing or two about being a parent, but I can also reach into the freezer, without looking, and tell which is the 4 oz bag of milk and which is the 4.5 oz bag. More than that, I’ve learned a few things about E and I hope he’s learned a few things about me. I know by the big silly grin he gets on his face when I walk into the room, that something must be there. I love that goofy little guy, and I know that Monday is going to be hard for both of us.

Until our next adventure!

 

4 responses to “D&E Day 45 (The End, For Now)

  1. David, Michael and I have loved your blog! Thank you for being so faithful to it. Because of you, we feel that we know our grandson so much better and we fall more and more in love with him every day. We look forward to an occasional update. We love you all!!

    • I’m glad that I could make it happen! There were days when I wasn’t certain that it would happen, but then I realized how much it meant to me and the people that were reading it. Somehow, a post always materialized. It won’t be long before D&E are back. I wouldn’t be surprised if there was a post on March 18!

  2. Good luck on your next big adventure so to speak. I have loved reading your blog every day, and have always looked forward to your posts. My son and E are pretty close in age. Your posts have helped me to see I am not alone, and we are dealing with a lot of the same joys and frustrations. I will look forward to seeing you all when you do get a chance to post. I have come to think of E as my son’s little online friend, and we love to see his pictures and read all about him.

    • Thank you for keeping up with our daily adventures! I look forward to keeping up with your posts going forward, and I welcome any input you might have on our future posts. E and I should be back on March 18th! Take care!

Leave a Reply

