D&E Day 39

I don’t know why it has taken me this long to realize that I really don’t do anything before 9:00. E gets up at 6:00, eats, flaps around in his chair or on the big bed while A and I get ready for the day, and then takes a nap. That usually gets us to his first bottle. I usually just sit around between the time A leaves for work and when E wakes up from his nap. Frankly, that’s kind of sad. I think I’m just afraid that I’m going to wake E. I know that he needs his naps, or else. Yes, that is supposed to sound menacing because, well, it is. He’s a cranky, fussy little man if he doesn’t get his naps. However, he’s awake right now and I have about 15 minutes before he starts screaming for his bottle. What am I doing with my time? Laundry? Dishes? Reading? Showering? No. I’m typing this and rotting my brain, further, with the Today Show.

Image

Based on the above picture, I think I have about 5 more minutes, and since I’ve had the above epiphany, I think I’m going to try to do something productive with remaining time.

I managed, in 5 minutes, to finish putting the records away, start a load of big people laundry, get dressed, and pull the blinds to let some light in. That sounds pretty good for 5 minutes. Cue the screaming.

Image

Right on time.

While I appreciate and encourage E’s desire to hold the bottle himself when he’s eating, it really makes feedings challenging. Sometimes he does a pretty good job, but, ultimately, he ends up spraying milk all over himself or smacking the boittle across the room.

He’s been fed, and he seems to be in better spirits.

Image

Though, his determination to eat Mr. Stripey says he might still be hungry.

Image

E and I escaped to the upstairs. He’s playing with his green ball on his play mat, and I’m finishing up a few things for work. I give him 10 minutes before he’s asleep again.

Image

I put on some music. That usually helps the process along. I went with Youth Lagoon’s, Wondrous Bughouse again. It’s still streaming over at NPR First Listen, and we liked what we heard the other day, so we’re giving it another go.

I was wrong. 45 minutes later and he’s still awake.

Image

E and I ran out to the store, and he was asleep by the time we got home. I thought I was going to get to eat lunch in peace, but just as soon as I had finished my thought, I heard E’s gremlin-esque waking up sounds. So, he sat and watched me eat lunch. What I really mean is, he watched me eat about half of my lunch, and fussed for the other half because he was hungry. This picture was from the first half:

Image

I made him a bottle as soon as I was done with my lunch, fed him, and now he is sound asleep in his swing with the Philadelphia Phillies and Atlanta Braves in the background. Maybe I’ll do the same?

E sort of woke up, fussed a bit, but then he went back to sleep. His heart wasn’t in it. Maybe he’ll give it a better try next time?

E woke up from his nap, mad. I don’t know why, but he was. I got him settled, and I loaded him up to go for a walk.

Image

E wasn’t too pleased about being forced to leave the warm house, but I needed to get out. We were planning on doing a few miles, but we decided that, with the wind, it was too cold for E and me to be outside today.

We headed home for storytime. Today we read, The Mittenby Jan Brett.

Image

Right now, E is on the play mat kicking his feet up in the air and catching them over and over again. He thinks this is the best thing ever!

IMG_2268

He’s so happy that I don’t have the heart to tell him that tummy time is coming.

A will be home any minute, and E and I will be back tomorrow!

Tonight’s Bottle: Devil’s Backbone Brewing Company Dark Abby Ale.

Image

This is another one I haven’t had before. I feel that I should explain. The reason that I haven’t had so many of these before is that I used to drink exclusively Dogfish Head beer, or Pabst Blue Ribbon. There’s so much craft beer out there that I’ll be “broadening my horizons,” for some time.

A Final Thought: I finished that load of laundry!

2 responses to “D&E Day 39

  1. You are the best daddy in the world! It’s not an easy thing taking care of a baby. As delightful as E is, I came home yesterday and took a hour’s nap. That boy just wore this old grandma out!

Leave a Reply

