D&E Day 31

IMG_1869

Happy President’s Day and National Drink Wine Day!

All I can say is, if you have a 2-3 month old and they start sleeping through the night, don’t talk about it. Don’t mention it to anyone, don’t even whisper it to your dog. That being said, I haven’t had a good night’s sleep since the middle of last week. Someone, I won’t name names, E, suddenly feels the need to eat at 1:00 AM, 3:00 AM, 5:00 AM, 7:00 AM… you get the idea. Also, I’m certain that this is as it is for most, so I will stop here before it comes off as complaining. I have nothing to complain about. So, without further ado:

Weekend Recap:

Dinner Friday night was excellent! A and I went to Ipanema Cafe to try some of their new menu items. We’ve been eating there for years, and we always look forward to the next time. Friday night, we had Johnny Cakes with golden beet and anjou pear chutney, drizzled in sciracha and honey butter, Seitan Stuffed Savoy Cabbage Leaves with a sour tomato sauce, rutabaga mash, cauliflower, and kale, and a smoked gouda sandwich w/ caramelized onion, tomato, & thyme. Very good!

We got home and discovered that E had taken all of Grandma’s money in their gin rummy tournament.

Saturday morning, we woke up to snow! E and I stood at the door for a little while and watched it come down. He’s very interested in the snow, it seems. It has snowed quite a few times in his brief time with us. Before long, the snow stopped and A and I loaded E and Rodie into the car and we headed to Virginia Beach for E’s cousin’s second birthday.

We thought we were out of trouble, but it snowed quite heavily between Richmond and Colonial Downs. After Colonial Downs, it poured until we crossed into Newport News. Once we hit Newport News, it cleared up a bit, or did it? We unloaded Rodie and our stuff at Nana’s house, and we were off to the party.

We walked in the door and Aunt S whisked him away. Also, thank you Aunt S for our Christmas presesnts! It wasn’t long before E had been passed off so many times that he ended up back with me.

So he and I went and saw Uncle J, B, and B.

DSC_0404

E watched his cousin, J, open presents with Nana.

DSC_0407

DSC_0416

Then E watched Uncle A play with J’s presents.

DSC_0425

After that, we watched Aunt N and Uncle A help J blow out the candles.

DSC_0431

Then E got kind of fussy, so he and I went and watched the snow come down.

DSC_0403

Before I knew it, he was asleep.

DSC_0439

He started getting heavy, so Nana gave me a break.

DSC_0449

It was snowing pretty good by the time the party was over, so went back to Nana’s house and played for a little while. Rodie got in on the fun too.

IMG_1864

Then we got ready for bed and hunkered down for the evening.

DSC_0452

The next morning, was bright and sunny. You would have never known it had snowed. E, A, Rodie, and I were on the road home before lunch. We got home, had lunch, and then Grandma came over for a gin rummy rematch while A and I went to run errands. Based on what we found when we came home, I’d say E took Grandma to the bank again.

IMG_1866

I almost forgot (don’t tell E)! E turned 3 months on old on Sunday. Here are some pictures from his 3-month photo shoot. Some of them we used, but some are just outtake, behind the scenes, type shots that I thought were funny.

DSC_0517 DSC_0514 DSC_0506 DSC_0504 DSC_0500 DSC_0495 DSC_0493 DSC_0491 DSC_0490 DSC_0483 DSC_0480 DSC_0476 DSC_0470 DSC_0457

So, it’s Monday. Exciting stuff. E and I are going to take it easy today, in an extreme way, of course. This morning, E played on the big bed while I got some laundry going and got myself together for the day.

IMG_1867

We decided it was too cold downstairs, so E and I went upstairs. He played on his play mat while I worked on typing this up and listened to Chelsea Light Moving’s new album Chelsea Light Moving on NPR First Listen.

IMG_1871

He played so hard, and put so much effort into rolling over, that he passed out mid-roll.

IMG_1876

What a sleepy boy.

E started to stir, so we worked on sitting up.

IMG_1878

As soon as I got him situated, he spit up everywhere.

I changed him into his new baseball outfit from Grandma. He’s ready for opening day!

After I changed him, we went back upstairs to work on sitting up some more.

IMG_1881

E quickly tired of this, so we played with the tambourine.

IMG_1893

E and I had lunch, and now he’s napping with the album, Amokby Atoms for Peace.

That boy napped like he’s never taken a nap before in his life. E woke up with just enough time left to take a walk before A got home.

IMG_1896

We walked by the house after the first mile and A was home. So, E and I got her to come with us for the second mile.

IMG_1898

We just got home, and E is having dinner #1. My fingers are crossed that I get some good sleep tonight, but I’m not going to say anymore about it.

It looks like rain tomorrow.

Tonight’s Bottle: Dogfish Head 75 Min. IPA.

IMG_1901

First, thank you Aunt S for this awesome Christmas gift! A and I used to drive to the brewery in Delaware to get beers like this one. I was quite happy when I heard they were going to be bottling it and sending it to me. This is a tasty, bottle-conditioned, blend of Dogfish Head’s well known 60 Min. and 90 Min IPAs, with the addition of maple syrup. Lot of hops on throughout, great mouthfeel, and just an all-around good beer.

A Final Thought: It looks like rain tomorrow.

4 responses to “D&E Day 31

  1. I love the 3 months photo shoot! He is most adorable! Good luck with the sleep thingie. He’ll get back on track soon! 😉

    • You’re so quick to read! I always revise after I publish. Since you read, I’ve added at least one more picture and I’ve cleaned some things up. I’d say that your best bet is to wait 10 min. after I publish if you want the final draft.

      He is adorable, isn’t he?

Leave a Reply

