D&E Day 29

Road trip!

Yes, it’s true we’ve gone on a road trip before, but this time we’re going north! This is E’s first trip north of Fredericksburg. He’s so excited that his pants fell off.

Image

I’m sitting around right now plotting the best time to leave to avoid D.C. rush hour, oh joyous D.C. rush hour!

E’s ready to go!

Image

But where are we going?

We’re going to visit Crazy Aunt E (CAE), Ev., and M.

Image

Today’s traveling playlist:

Jacco Gardner – Cabinet of Curiosities

Bright Eyes – The People’s Key

Dirty Projectors – Swing Lo Magellan

Unknown Mortal Orchestra – II

Fiery Furnaces – Widow City

We made it with no traffic whatsoever. E and I were thankful. All of that plotting paid off, or did it?

E was hungry when we got there, and he tried to chew on CAE.

Image

I fixed a bottle for E, though it didn’t seem as if I was moving fast enough for him. Whatever. What’s up with kids these days and their instant gratification? I got him fed and then he had a little playtime on the jungle play mat.

Image

We all had a tasty lunch of quinoa cakes, but I think E was upset that he didn’t get any. He started getting quite fussy. I suppose, it’s possible that he was just tired. Ev. and I tested this theory. We were right.

Image

After E’s nap, we played some more before Ev. and M had to go have their naps. But before they could go, CAE and I lined the kids up on the couch for a group shot. These are the best ones that I got (I’m pretty sure CAE got some better ones):

ImageImage

Ev. and M went off for their naps and CAE and I played with E for a little while longer (we did tummy time too) before we had to feed him, load him up, and get on the road in an effort to beat rush hour in the other direction.

Image

It was 2:20 when we got on the interstate. 2:20. I’ve made this drive many times before, but I don’t remember it looking like this at 2:20 before.

3:40. We had moved 10 miles. Clearly, these people don’t understand the ticking time bomb I have in the backseat of my car. If he wakes up, I’m in trouble.

4:15. We finally made it past Fredericksburg. What the hell?

5:15. WE MADE IT!

A and Aunt J were here when we got home, and it was a good thing. Before I could even get E out of the car, he was screaming. E was quite the road warrior today, but now he’s hungry. Don’t mess with E’s food.

After all of that, who knows what tomorrow will look like. We had a great time visiting CAE, Ev., and M today, and we hope we can do it again! Come to think of it this was my first time meeting M. I think in a few months he and E could playing together – who knows?

Tonight’s Bottle: Williamsburg AleWerks Bitter Valentine Double IPA.

Image

This is, yet another one, I’ve never had. However, I’ve heard some people get pretty excited about this one.

A Final Thought: Did you know it was Valentine’s Day? I found out at 10:30 this morning.

2 responses to “D&E Day 29

Leave a Reply

