D&E Day 28

I’m trying to write this post on a mobile device, just to see how it would work out. I don’t think I’ll be doing it again.

I fell asleep during the State of the Union last night. That’s very unlike me. I guess President Obama didn’t have a very exciting speech. OR – I took care of an infant all day yesterday and I was exhausted, one of the two. All I remember after “Mr. Speaker, the President of the United States,” was briefly waking up to Marco Rubio drinking water and I quickly fell back to sleep. Oh, and E was asleep the whole time.

There’s one more thing I want to emphasize before I move on, Allagash Brewing Co. is awesome. They don’t make bad beer. They have even made a white ale that I like. Crazy, I know. They are in Portland, ME, so my cousin, K, should visit next time he ventures south from Bangor. Portland has had a good deal of snow lately, so the beer should be good and cold. Though, it’s probably temperature controlled and it most likely maintains whatever temperature the brewers choose, and I just ruined my own joke. Just stop reading at, “should be good and cold,” and skip to the next paragraph.

Tuesday, no wait, Wednesday!

E woke up at 3 demanding to be fed, so things are a little fuzzy. Remember when I mentioned he was sleeping through the night? This is what I get for doing that.

All right, enough of this. I’m heading back to the computer.

It’s a reasonable hour now. I just told E that his Grandma was coming today. E thought that was great!

IMG_1882

E had his morning workout.

After that, I tried to get him to pose for a silly picture, but he didn’t want to play along.

IMG_1894

E had a quick morning nap with Ladysmith Black Mambazo on NPR (I don’t remember if it was Morning Edition or Classical), and before we knew it Grandma was here!

E was excited!

IMG_1900

He was hungry, so this was as excited as he could muster. Really, everyone was excited!

IMG_1897

Rodie was disappointed that there wasn’t any bacon in Grandma’s pockets. Grandma jumped right into storytime, a good thing to do.

IMG_1904

He looks very focused. E and Grandma read, Have You Seen My Duckling, by Nancy Tafuri. He was still hungry at this point, so, I hear, the second time through was a bit more pleasant.

I left Grandma and E to play while I went into the office for a couple of hours. Part of me does miss going to work and all of the folks there, but I wouldn’t trade this time with E.

I returned home to find a hungry boy, again. There’s no satiating that guy. E had a quick lunch, and then it was playtime again.

IMG_1908

After we said goodbye to Grandma, E and I headed off to the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts for an indoor walk today. The weather hasn’t been terribly pleasant today. We focused on E with various sculptures/busts of various people.

Thomas Jefferson:

IMG_1912

Some random Puritan man:

IMG_1913

Booker T. Washington (R) and I don’t recall who is on the left:

IMG_1916

Buddha watching TV:

IMG_1919

Paul Mellon:

IMG_1923

Septimus Severus:

IMG_1924

Ben Franklin:

IMG_1928

E slept the whole time. Surprise. In fact, he’s still asleep. So, I’m going to take this opportunity to do a few things before he rejoins the party.

Tomorrow, E and I are doing something new!

Tonight’s Bottle: Goose Island Bourbon County Stout.

IMG_1931

A Final Thought: Rodie has been pretty good since I last complained about him.

One response to “D&E Day 28

Leave a Reply

