D&E Day 19

Road trip!

E and I are off to Virginia Beach to visit Nana, Aunt N, and Cousin J! We still have a lot to get ready before we go, so the rest of this post will be in past tense. Brace yourself!

Image

The trip down to Virginia Beach was, thankfully, uneventful. First, E and I dropped A off at work, and then we were on our way. I pulled into the driveway, turned around, and this is what I found:

Image

I took E inside, and Nana was very happy to see him.

Image

As you can see, E was happy to see Nana too. After E downed his bottle, he and Nana played and chatted on the floor. Oh! I almost forgot! Just after we got there, E was sitting in Nana’s lap and decided to have a blow out. Nice. What a way to say hello. I’m very happy that one of the last things A said to me before we left was, “do you have a change of clothes?” The answer, fortunately, was yes.

Image

Before too long, Aunt N and Cousin J showed up too!

Image

J played with trucks while E watched with great interest. It won’t be long before E is down on the floor playing with his cousins.

Before we left the house for lunch, we took a group photo.

Image

Well, almost a group photo. Someone had to take it. On our way to lunch, I looked up and noticed the the wind did a number on the house.

Image

We went to Gordon Biersch for lunch. In case you were wondering, I had a nice salad and a Hefeweizen. The two paired nicely. As with most things, E slept through lunch.

Image

J devoured some fries. That plate was piled high with fries! That little guy can eat!

Image

Not really, there were other things on his plate. It was a reasonable amount of fries.

Anyway, after lunch, we went back to Nana’s house and played some more, had our bottle, and E and I were back on the road. As soon as we hit the interstate, E was out.

On the way home, we stopped at our second brewery of the day. I’d been wanting to go by Williamsburg AleWerks for some time now, so E and I decided that today was just as good as any other day. Unfortunately, we were running a little behind, so we were quick. We picked up some Bitter Valentine Double IPA, and we were off.

Image

We made a quick stop to pick A up at work, and we were home in time for E’s feeding. E and A are visiting with A’s friend, J, and I’m going to get the house in order.

Tomorrow’s weather is looking a bit questionable; I wonder what we’ll do?

Tonight’s Bottle: Troegs Nugget Nectar.

Image

I’ve been on a bit of a hops kick lately. Couldn’t you tell? While E and I were waiting for the Hopslam on Tuesday, the Nugget Nectar arrived. It was quite a pleasant surprise. I’m not very good at describing beer, but this is Troegs Amber Ale, with more flavor – lots of hops! It really is good. I highly recommend it!

A Final Thought: Doing a day trip with a baby requires a lot more stuff than a solo day trip. I don’t know why I didn’t make this connection prior to our trip today, but I recognize that now. Next time, in an effort to mitigate delays, I will prepare the night before.

2 responses to “D&E Day 19

  1. Pingback: D&E Day 20 | The Adventures of D and E·

Leave a Reply

