D&E Day 10

Image

Apparently, this is what we call snow in Richmond, VA. This is also all it takes to close schools. I’m thinking, perhaps, that the students or teachers paid off the decision makers in an effort to obtain a 4 day weekend. Considering how Virginians handle snow though, it’s probably for the best. I’m sure my cousin, K, who lives in Bangor, ME is laughing at us.

That being said, A is going to be home with us today! I’m pretty sure that all of the school systems within 100 miles are closed today. E and I are excited! Perhaps with an extra pair of hands around, we’ll be able to, I don’t know, do the laundry, take the trash out, actually clean something. I’ll let you know how that goes.

It’s 9:00 and we’re all still wearing what we slept in. No cleaning yet.

IMG_0817

Here’s how our morning has gone. First, E and I played mirror. This has turned out to be one of his favorite things to do. I’m sure there’s some official, “babies like to look at themselves in mirrors,” or “mirrors are good for infant development,” something or other out there. E usually reaches out towards the mirror and giggles at himself. I wish I was so easily entertained. Oh wait, I am. I can’t get enough of watching him giggle at himself in the mirror. It’s pretty excellent.

IMG_0819

Next, E got to sit on the big bed.

IMG_0822

For E, a baby that doesn’t have very good head control, sitting on the big bed comes with certain hazards, hazards such as falling over.

IMG_0825

IMG_0826

IMG_0827

IMG_0828

I got him back up, but then he started drooling everywhere, and as he is on my pillow I decided a bib would be a good idea.

IMG_0838

As you can tell, we had a busy and exhausting morning. It takes immense effort to hold up a head that size!

IMG_0842

E decided he was going to help me type all of this, so he sat with me at the computer. He lasted about 30 seconds. An hour later he was rested and ready for more!

IMG_0844

Err…maybe not. He still looks a bit groggy there, but look how well he’s holding his head up (better than this morning)!

Now he’s been fed, and he’s a milk drunk little boy.

IMG_0848

Once E sobered up, A and I decided to squeeze his 2-month photo shoot in before lunch. I’m going to put a couple of set-up photos here, but I’ll put together a separate post with the rest of the photos.

IMG_0851

IMG_0853

All right, it’s lunch time! E is napping in his swing, and A and I are busy plotting our afternoon.

Let me just say that we had a very busy and exciting afternoon. The day was full of adventure, mischief, and mayhem, and I’ve run out of time to tell you about it. Unfortunately, you’ll have to wait until Monday!

Tonight’s bottle: 2012 Dogfish Head 120 Minute IPA.

IMG_0861

For a long time, I called this my favorite beer. Big, hoppy, intense. It’ hard to describe as there isn’t anything else like it. I’ve always been intrigued by the whole concept of continual hopping. I even tried it once with a beer I was making. It’s a pain in the ass to do it the way I was doing it. I was just tossing hops in a little bit at a time at regular intervals, where Dogfish Head has special instruments and devices that do it automatically. While I still really enjoy it, it’s just not practical (18+% ABV), or affordable ($8.99+/1 12 oz. bottle), as an everyday beer. It’s a beer that I snatch up whenever it’s on the shelves, and I’ll usually stow it away for years to come. I pulled a 2012 because I found it to be a particularly tasty year. Wow. That makes me sound like such a beer snob, though I suppose I am. Well there it is. It’s out there now. Cheers!

A final thought: I said I would keep you posted on the house cleaning and such. Very little got done.

Until Monday!

Leave a Reply

