D&E Day 8

Image

No, you aren’t looking at yesterday’s post. It just looks exactly the same outside today. I’m so excited. Here’s E and I being excited:

Image

In an effort to curb E’s excessive spitting up (see yesterday’s post), I let him pick out his outfit today. My thinking is that, if he picks it out he must like it, and therefore won’t spit up on it. It’s pretty sound logic.

Image

He picked one of his new 6-9 month outfits that Grandma brought him on Monday. It’s terrifying that our 8 week old is wearing 6-9 month clothing.

Image

If you’ve been keeping up, you know that we had an exciting, whirlwind, day of entertainment, history, and culture yesterday. Frankly, I’m exhausted. This morning I signed over custody of E to Rodie, and he’s in charge now.

Image

As you can see, he’s not doing a very good job.

Image

Needless to say, I have decided to rescind my earlier transfer of custody, and I’m going to suck it up and be in charge today.

It appears that the weather is going to be about the same tomorrow. Goody. I’m taking suggestions for a good place to go for a walk tomorrow; you can leave them in the comments section.

That was a brief nap; I’ll spare you the reason. E is cleaned up and ready to go! Hungry!

Now, he’s fed and fussy. I think he might need to finish he abbreviated nap from earlier. I couldn’t help but notice when I was feeding him that he’s stinky. I have a stinky baby. It’s fortunate, for everyone, that today is a bath day.

E woke up from nap, version 1.2, hungry and vocal about it! After he ate and settled down a bit, I broke out the play mat. It would appear that Rodie was tired of being excluded from play mat time.

Image

I had turned the news on while we were on the floor, and Brian Williams broke in with a special bulletin about the president, and E dutifully turned to pay attention. E mentioned that he was very concerned about where our country was going in regard to gun control and mental health, so he wanted to hear what President Obama had to say.

Image

Then, he fell over.

Image

I decided that it was time to go for our walk. I really wanted to go somewhere indoors to walk, but at the same time, I’m mildly terrified of the flu. Yes, I have gotten the shot, but E’s little immune system is, well, little. I thought I could go to the mall, but then that would be one of the worst places to go. Ultimately, I opted to bundle him up and take him to Short Pump Town Center. It’s true, that is still a mall, but it’s outdoors and he was bundled and covered in blankets. As you can see, E wasn’t thrilled about going out today.

Image

I bet you all thought I was only going to use pictures of him looking happy.

I noticed something on our brief jaunt west today. Normally, E is out as soon as he is put in the car. Today, I noticed that instead of sleeping he was watching the world go by window as we drove by. He was asleep by the time we arrived at the mall.

Image

If you look closely you can see an E-sized hand, an E-sized hand that was covered up after this picture was taken. We did 3 laps around the upper level before I decided that I had had enough. I grabbed a cup of coffee, took the long way home, and that’s where we are now. E is napping while we listen to the Yo La Tengo LP we bought yesterday.

Once again, E woke up hungry and fussy. He looks so much like his granddaddy when he gets fussy. Anyone who knew my dad can, certainly, attest to that.

We had second lunch while listening to a band called Widowspeak. NPR Music is streaming their new album, Almanac over on their First Listen site. I can’t get enough of this album, and E seems ok with it too.

About 20 minutes after second lunch, E was screaming for more! More! MORE! I knew A was going to be home soon, so I tried to hold him off. Once again, music was the trick. This time, we listened to the new record, Centralia, by the band Mountains. That one is over at Pitchfork Advance. This droning, ambient instrumental music was able to soothe the savage beast that is a hungry E. I am very thankful for music. Music did all of the work today.

E and I had picked out Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type to read after second lunch, but that didn’t happen. Perhaps he will have settled enough later this evening that we can give story time another try.

A is home and all seems right with the world. I know I didn’t have many pictures today, but between the screaming and the keeping up with work, there wasn’t much time.

Tonight’s Bottle: 2006 Dogfish Head Olde School Barleywine. I don’t know how this one is going to taste, as I haven’t had one since 2006. I can tell you that it’s fermented with dates and figs. It will be interesting to see how the last 6 years have treated it.

Image

FInal thought: Lavender. What’s up with lavender? We have some herbal, natural, organic, gluten-free, vegan, free-range, cage-free, grass-fed, fair-trade, locally-produced, etc., lavender hand sanitizer in E’s room. Generally, lavender is supposed to help sleep and relaxation, but it seems to enrage E. What’s up with that? I really was hoping for the sleep and relaxation piece, but I get screams and flailing.

2 responses to “D&E Day 8

Leave a Reply

