D&E Day 7

It would appear to be another gloomy day in the capital of the Confederacy.

Image

However, that didn’t stop E from being up and at ’em early this morning.

Image

A went off to work, and I set out to get E dressed for the day. I pulled outfit number 1 from the bin, changed him, and started to dress him. I got one foot in and he spit up all over outfit one. Take two. I picked out another outfit. I got all of his tentacles in, zipped him up, picked him up, and carried him into the dining room to take this picture:

Image

Moments after I pressed the shutter button, he spit up again. This time he got both of us, and he just missed the dog and my phone. Take three. I picked out another outfit while he waited in his crib emphatically attempting to shove both fists into his mouth. I tried switching out his fists for a pacifier, but to no avail. Anyway, I got him out of outfit number 2 and into outfit number 3 without incident. We sat down on the couch to read, The Very Hungry Caterpillar, which we all know is great, and we made it all the way through without any protest from E’s GI tract.

Image

I put the book down and got up to put him down for his morning nap, and E spit up again. It was just a little this time, but I know there’s more to come. I’ll keep everyone posted.

E’s napping now, so I think I’m going to read and fold laundry. I’ve started reading 41 books, but I haven’t finished any of them. I think I’ll start with something light and work my way up. I’ve been reading George Takei’s book, Oh Myyy! (There Goes the Internet), which is hilarious and quite insightful. I’m about halfway through it, and if E takes a good nap this morning, I might be able to finish it. Also, I realized this morning while reading back through the last 6 posts, that I haven’t been italicizing my book titles. I apologize. I’m usually good about my grammar, spelling, punctuation, etc., but I’d like immunity from the grammar police for this project. It’s a lot to take care of E all day, try to meet my self-imposed deadline for my posts, and catch all of my comma splices, misplaced modifiers, and make sure that all of my pronouns are in agreement. It makes me think of the book, Eats, Shoots, and Leaves: The Zero Tolerance Approach to Punctuation. Look it up.

E and I decided we were going to get out of the house today. E thought it would be a good idea to split the day up, do a little in the morning, come home for lunch, and then do something in the afternoon. E woke up hungry and angry. I got him fed, dressed, and ready to head downtown.

IMG_0669

How about that pose? He’s got some attitude.

IMG_0671

You’re going to get two pictures of this because I like the next one so much.

IMG_0674

And we’re off!

IMG_0686

We drove by all sorts of interesting and educational places. The above picture was taken from near the south side of the Manchester Bridge. After that, we drove by Belle Isle.

IMG_0681

Next, we took in a little bit more of the James River.

IMG_0682

We left this part of town, and headed NE. Our next stop, a place where things, no doubt (yeah right), get done everyday, the State Capitol building.

IMG_0680

Our final stop before heading home for lunch, Steady Sounds.

IMG_0678

Steady Sounds is another one of Richmond’s fine record stores. E picked out two records while we were there, the new LP, Fade, from Yo La Tengo, and the Ty Segall/White Fence collaboration LP, Hair.

IMG_0694

I’m joking, of course. E slept most of the time. In fact, we’re home, I’ve eaten my lunch, and I’ve typed this whole bit about our downtown trip, and he’s still asleep. The above picture was entirely staged, believe it or not. However, it’s now time to wake the beast. He will, no doubt, be hungry. Stay tuned for our next trip!

The time has come! Where are we off to next?

IMG_0706

The Virginia Museum of Fine Arts! A and I are members, and we don’t get over there enough. Given the weather, it seemed like the perfect place to go for a walk. It also gave me an opportunity to make good on my promise to E that we would go and see works by the artists we read about last week. If you recall, we read about Matisse, Van Gogh, Monet, and Degas.

E with Matisse:

IMG_0701

He was clearly excited about that one.

E with Van Gogh:

IMG_0698

He forgot to look at those, but that’s ok.

E with Monet:

IMG_0699

I’m willing to bet he’s thinking about gardens or gardening.

FInally, E with Degas:

IMG_0700

That one is my favorite.

E also saw his first Andy Warhol, a little pop art.

IMG_0696

Thank you, thank you very much.

E’s first sarcophagus:

IMG_0695

A stop in ancient Egypt, followed by a stop in Japan:

IMG_0705

E’s first Buddha.

Then there’s also E’s first nude statue…don’t tell A…:

IMG_0702

What a day. I’m exhausted, and E is, of course, wide awake and ready to go. I may have let him sleep a bit too much today, but we had fun! I can’t complain. E was really well-behaved all day, and at the end of the day this is what I get:

IMG_0708

You can’t beat it!

Tonight’s bottle:

IMG_0707

A 32 oz. growler full of Lagunitas Sucks. This beer came to be last winter when Lagunitas, due to construction, didn’t have the capacity available to brew their regular winter release, Brown Shugga. Lagunitas Sucks was so popular, that the brewery decided to make it again! I’ve seen Lagunitas Sucks listed as an Imperial IPA and as an American Strong Ale. All I know for certain is that it’s full of big citrusy hops and it’s delicious!

A final thought: Why do we bother with burp cloths? Seriously. No matter what, if your baby spits up, it ends up on you, the baby, or both. Perhaps, I should come up with a burp shirt, a shirt made of burp cloths. Does that exist? I suppose I could just put an old t-shirt on. It doesn’t matter, entirely futile.

Leave a Reply

