D&E Day 4

I’m going to try to post today, but I don’t know that E is going to let me.

Image

So, I managed to get E settled, changed, dressed, and damn near happy.

Image

I set E down in his swing so he could take the morning nap that he’s taken everyday this week, and he spit up all over himself. It seems that it’s going to be one of those days.

All right, he’s out. Ok, no he isn’t. Or is he? Is sleeping in the swing bad for him? I don’t want to do this wrong. The last thing I need is for someone to read one of these and tell me I’m doing it wrong. Previously, I would add a picture of him sleeping, but I’m not going to today – see earlier posts for pictures of E sleeping. I’m not sold on this being asleep thing. E keeps drifting off and then startling himself awake, so who knows how this will play out. I could keep rambling, but I won’t bore you with my thoughts. I’m going to take this opportunity to clean the house up a bit, as we have a visitor coming today! I was going to try to work in a funny story about being awaken by a joyous symphony of baby toots, farts, flatulence, whatever you would like to call it, while E was nursing at 3:00 this morning, but I couldn’t figure out where to put it. I also want to add that, yes, I had gotten up and changed him before giving him to A to feed, and then I dozed a little, but not for long (I try to stay up with them in case A needs anything). E was pretty gassy last night. Here’s a funny picture from Christmas:

Image

He really does like his sweater. It may not look like it, but he does.

I got some of the cleaning done, but, I guess, if I do it all today I won’t have any cleaning to do tomorrow.

Our visitor has arrived! Who is it? Grandma! Grandma drove down from Fredericksburg to hang out with E while I go to the dentist. On today’s menu: a crown and a cleaning. It’s going to be a good day! Grandma brought me some vegetarian chili for lunch, just in case eating solid food isn’t something I want to do when I get home. After we got my lunch unpacked and in the fridge, E decided that he wanted lunch #1 – it’s usually elevenses (it was 10:00 when I wrote this), my little hobbit, but not today.

Image

This feeding was followed by E’s first spitting up on the couch. Does anyone have any secret tips for making sure that doesn’t stain, or to get a stain out? I would appreciate any insight.

I’m home now. I was at the dentist for 3 hours and we didn’t even get to my cleaning. I have to go back tomorrow. Don’t ask. I don’t know.

Apparently, E is insatiable. He’s eating at the rate that I was eating when I was 16 and playing sports year round. A and I are in trouble.

E spent most of the day with his Grandma. They read a new book, Goodnight, Goodnight, played on his play mat, listened to NPR, looked at the mobile, and who knows what other secret Grandma activities that A and I aren’t supposed to know about.

Image

Image

He was a little fussy when I came home, but he has been fed, again, and everything seems right with the world.

Image

E and I decided, again, that it was too nice to not go for a walk. Today, we chose to go to the park. At the park we learned about:

the red maple

Image

the sweetgum:

Image

and the American holly:

Image

After learning about some, rather unexciting (you all know there are more exciting tress out there…the American holly put him to sleep), trees, we took to the fitness trail.

Image

We left the park and stopped by Good Foods Grocery, one of our local natural food stores. I’m not allowed to have gum because of my earlier dental procedure, so I wanted some mints.

Image

It’s a good thing I had those mints too, as E and I, once again, returned home to a defiant dog (I’m sure there’s a connection there somewhere — think about it and let me know).

Image

I don’t know what we’re going to do with him. We just want him to stay off the couch. Anyway, A is home, so away I go. Also, E seems to be mad at his feet.

Image

Tonight’s bottle: Uinta Dubhe Imperial Black IPA. Again, a new one for me, so I have nothing to say. You can follow me on Untappd if you want to know my conclusions on these beers.

Image

Final thought: The pain that comes when the anesthesia wears off after a crown and a screaming baby don’t mix.

For Real Final Thought: I’ve been home for four days now which means 4 editions of the Today Show. What I want to know is what’s up with Matt Lauer? Is he a serious journalist, or should he be co-hosting the 4th hour with Hoda and Kathie Lee. He, so seamlessly, goes between discussing YouTube videos of a guy getting hit in the crotch with a ______________ (fill in the blank) to sitting down with President Obama. How does he do it? The only thing I’ve been able to determine is that his power lies in his glasses. You know, the studious looking glasses he puts on whenever he does something serious? I need to get a pair of those.

One response to “D&E Day 4

  1. E and I will never tell all that went on…but it was great fun! He is a delightful and scrumptious (ok, I have to nibble on him some!) baby!

Leave a Reply

