D&E Day 3

Image

We’re exhausted. E gets to nap, but I have become busy with work stuff and napping isn’t an option this morning. So far, there’s nothing terribly exciting to report. NOAA has, officially, deemed 2012 the hottest year on record in the U.S…but climate change isn’t real (yes, I’m being sarcastic). I digress. Stay tuned, I’m certain that there’s more to come.

In the meantime – here’s an article related to the above.

E is becoming restless; my time is running out.

He’s awake now.

Image

So what I thought was going to be a more low-key day, got very busy very fast. I don’t actually know where I left off, so I’m just going to jump on in. E woke up and quickly made it known that he needed some sort of stimulation, so we got down on the floor and had some play mat time, tummy time (which he was not pleased about), and we read In the Garden With Van Gogh.

Image

Then I invaded the play mat.

Image

Once we both managed to get up off the floor (it’s getting harder and harder for some of us), it was lunch time.

After lunch, we had to get out of the house. It was 60+ degrees today and it seemed silly not to.  At E’s urging, we took Rodie with us for the first leg of our trip.

Image

First stop: Total Wine. E helped me put together an excellent make your own six pack. He picked: Founders Imperial Stout, Uinta Dubhe, Williamsburg AleWerks Tavern Ale, Williamsburg AleWerks Chesapeake Pale Ale, Allagash Dubbel, and Allagash Black.

Image\

Yes, it’s true, he’s pictured here with the N.A. beers. He’s only 7.5 weeks old, those are the only ones he can have.

After Total Wine, we took Rodie home and we were off to the University.

Image

We headed over to Westhampton Lake for a nice walk.

Image

We (I, E slept) did two laps around the lake. We were doing all right until we met these hooligans:

Image

Once we broke free from the bothersome water fowl, we ascended the hill to Boatwright Memorial Library, E’s first trip to the library.

Image

This was quickly followed by E’s first trip to a coffee shop.

Image

If you recall, I mentioned that we left Rodie at home for this trip. A and I have been having some problems with Rodie acting out. One of his favorite tricks is to get on the couch, the couch that he knows he’s not supposed to get on. Today, I realized just how determined he is to get on the couch.

Image

I put baby gates on both sides. It took me a minute to figure it out, but the only viable explanation is that he army-crawled under the coffee table. Once again, I let him sit there and think about what he had done. When we got home, E decided that he was going to, finally, wake up. He slept through our fun and exciting outdoor trek (with a brief exception at the coffee shop – pictured above). So, we got back down on the play mat and played with our feet. Yes, I said “our,” I can’t play with my feet too?

Image

After that, E ate one more time, A came home, and I prepared a bottle for myself.

Image

Today: Williamsburg AleWerks Tavern Ale. It’s my first time, so I don’t have anything to say about it.

A final thought: see yesterday’s final thought.

Leave a Reply

