D&E Day 1.

Image

Today couldn’t have started better! As soon as A took E’s diaper off this morning everything went everywhere — it was a no holds barred attack of the nether regions. Needless to say, this wasn’t factored into A’s “first day back to work” schedule. So after we got him cleaned up, dressed, and fed, he went straight to sleep, and that’s where we are now.

Feeding #1 done. Uneventful, but don’t take that boy’s bottle away – very unhappy. Then we got sleepy, and then not sleepy, and then sleepy, and then not sleepy. This is where I said, “ok, you sit there while I make lunch.” So, I made my lunch, and he let me eat it. After that, not sleepy and very unhappy, but then sleepy, and nap. Now, we’re all awake again. After this we did, toots, laugh, toots, laugh, toots, MAD. I don’t understand, sometimes E thinks it’s funny, and sometimes it scares the crap out of him (literally and figuratively). So, I thought at that point it would make sense to read a book. E and I got down on some Mother Goose. I laughed, he cried, and it was great! After that we had some time on our play mat — including some very upsetting, but needed, tummy time.

Image

Where were we? Then E got pretty fussy, a fussy that could only say, “Hey! Mister! I’m starvin’ here!” Which takes us to:

Feeding #2. Another uneventful, but very serious and intense feeding, followed by a superior burp.

Image

That’s when we got adventurous. I packed E up, and we set off down the road. We went to the child care center that A and I want to send E to, as opposed to the one where he actually has a spot, and we paid the deposit to get on the waiting list. I expressed an urgency to get him in, as we don’t want to send him to the place where he currently has a spot, they said, “we’ll cross our fingers for you.” I guess that’s about all I should expect.

Upon our return, we switched from one conveyance (car seat) to the next (Bjorn), and we went for a long walk around the neighborhood.

Image

Now we’re back, and awaiting what fate may have in store for us next.

So, now it seems that E just wants to have a conversation of some variety – if I know him, probably about politics, beer, music, or food. I have no idea what he’s saying, but I’m trying to keep it going. I think we’re going to go back to our play mat and read another book. We picked, A Magical Day With Matisse.

A final thought, there is no Mr. Mom, only Dad (said like the line, “There is no Dana, only Zuul,” from Ghostbusters). Think about it.Image

2 responses to “D&E Day 1.

Leave a Reply

